11 things I enjoyed about being a tourist in Vancouver, British Columbia.

1. High definition photos of the city due zero justice compared to the beauty of actually being there.

2. It is like a little like San Francisco on steroids. Also, it is alot cheaper. Food is about the same.

3. The infrastructure is superb and very pedestrian and bicycle-friendly. Public transit is abundant and it’s very easy to get around the city.

4. Traffic was very smooth for the most part. Again, mostly due to superb infrastructure and public transportation and pedestrian and bicycle-friendly streets.

5. There are parks and gardens almost everywhere with wounderful views of the coast pacific ocean.

6. I didn’t have to spend much money as long as my two feet were working well. Most of the sightseeing is free and very enriching for an outsider like I was.

7. There is a unique blend of Asian, Native American and Caucasian(Mostly english based) culture.

8. Although, I normally have a very poor sense of direction it is hard to get lost. In the commercial, business, parks and touristy areas it is very hard to get lost as there are signs and maps posted in great numbers that tell you where you are and how far it is to a certain landmarks point with arrows. Along with paved compasses the grounds of sidewalks.

9. I could literary walk around all day and not get bored. There is so much to see when you are new. There was so much more to see than I imagined.

10. It is very eco-friendly with lots of recycling bins everywhere.

11. I saved this one for last as it really is the best part. It is not just sterotype. The people really are genuinely friendly, kind and welcoming. And certainly not in a creepy or stocky way. I felt 100% safe and respected and looked after the whole time I was there. My foot was swollen after a few days and several people noticed and asked if I was okay and checked on me, even though I didn’t know them. However, of course I was okay.

Leave a Reply

